WordPress just wished me a happy anniversary. I have been here two years though Amateur Germanologist is only a few months old.

Things are settling in a little with this move. I’ve done a sample of a German meat and cheese platter with more of those “Quintessential German” flavors. More on that in a few days. I have to dig up the camera from where ever it is that I packed it. You’d think I would have been more careful. Sheesh!

In the meantime my local ALDI is stocking up on some Spring time favorites from Deutsche Küche; mustards, pretzels, chocolates for Easter, and more Braunschweiger than the boyfriend and I can shake a finger at. Though I strongly suspect that there is going to be a lot of the Braunschweiger leaving with him on the next shopping trip. They also have ducks in the freezer right now and as game is a popular treat at the German Table, I will have to pick one up. The variety of soups are gone, sadly. My favorite Potato and Leek soup came and went so quickly! Alas… next time I will take more home. The 2 pound can is only 1.69 and will feed a whole family as the first course. And by family I mean 2 adults and 2 kids with enough for the pet to lap up IF there are leftovers. The Spargel, red cabbage that was so tasty and the hams are disappearing quickly.

And as ever, while I am trying to get back into the swing of things, there is tons of research happening here. Oh…. and I started a new job. Its in the same place but with a different title and duties and it is proving to be more difficult than I remembered it being. Fun. But difficult. With some luck it won’t take long to get back into the swing of things.

