Tags

, , , , ,


Cookie doughWith each stack of recipes my pen-pal sends me, I am more and more convinced that there is a hierarchy of flavors preferred by the German palate. The ingredients lists are inundated with nuts that we consider more exotic in the States.

Hazelnuts, Almonds and Pistachios top the list. Pecans come in a close fourth and the nuts we favor here in the States, Walnuts, Cashews and peanuts, barely get a mention unless there is some Asian fusion happening. And that is fine with me. I am fairly well over the Walnuts and Cashews. And after three Summers exploring all the combinations that peanut butter has to offer, I can ignore them for the rest of my life.

Pistachios are among my very favorite flavors. Any time the local ice cream parlor advertises either pistachio or toasted coconut I make at least 3 stops during the week. And with such a passion for pistachio, I present you this recipe: white chocolate pistachios crinkle cookies… crinkle cookies being among my favorite to bake and eat.

Ingredients

  • 8oz white chocolate, melted over a double  boiler
  • 1 package instant pistachio pudding
  • 1½ Cup sugar
  • ½ Cup unsalted butter, softened
  • 4 eggs
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 Cup all-purpose flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • ½ tsp salt
  • ½ Cup confectioners sugar

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

Cream butter & sugar together. Add pudding powder.

Beat one egg at a time into mix. Stir in the melted chocolate. Cover and chill for about 4 hours.

Preheat over to 350°. Line cookie sheets with parchment. Roll dough into 1 inch balls. Coat each ball in confectioner’s sugar before placing on cookie sheets.

Bake for 10-12 minutes. Let cool a bit before moving onto wire racks t cool completely.

The was going for a pale green, a springy color, to peek under the white of the confectionary sugar. So at the creaming stage I did add a little extra green food color to the mix. And you have to watch these closely. If you are going to keep the light green color, you want to pull the cookies just as soon as the dough is set. This is one time you don’t want a good golden color edge to your cookies. 🙂

