Tags

,


Only three posts and so many likes!

There are a lot of things to like about Blogger as there are with WordPress. The thing that WordPress excels at which Blogger is sluggish if not completely ignorant of is the ability to build community. And this is one of the things that I want to accomplish with Amateur Germanologist.

The Frugal Gourmet was my first foodie influence outside of family traditions. Dad and I both found Jeff Smith a compelling and easy to understand teacher. More than that though, I loved his philosophy, “Know a People by how they Eat.” And the music they listen to, the stories they read and games they play with their children….. in other words forget the crap in the newspapers.

PBS ran his show in the 80s at the height of the United Colors of Benetton campaign while Sting was furiously saving rain forests and Bono was trying to convert politicians to humanity. Bono has a way to go I think. Mandela, Bhutto, Aquino and a handful of voices for the people of places most of us didn’t know painted a colorful world for me. I’d aspirations of being a foreign exchange student because of them. When there could be no money for such an adventure there was the Frugal Gourmet.

He taught us about Our Immigrant Ancestors­™. Food really is the thing that we all have in common even if we have different ways to prepare it. Of course I mean to explore more than the food here. But it is certainly good to make friends at the table as we get rolling with a brand new blog.

Thanks for visiting!

Tschüss!

